Sunday, November 13, 2011

Brian Grazer to Produce 84th Academy Awards® with Don Mischer

Interesting development for the 84th Oscar Award Ceremony:  it was recently announced that Billy Crystal with Brian Grazer and Don Mischer have stepped in to replace Eddie Murphy and Brett Ratner.

This development, though interesting, is not surprising.  The Academy Awards knew that they had to get quality for quality...talent for talent.

Each of these individuals has a long and successful track record.  With an objective view, it is clear to see that there could not have been a better, lateral move.

In case you're not up to speed with the new production team, take a look at what we've gleaned from Academy Press Releases and the internet:

Beverly Hills, CA (November 9, 2011)

Academy President Tom Sherak announced today that Academy Award®-winner Brian Grazer will join Don Mischer as a producer of the 84th Academy Awards. This will be the first time Grazer has produced the Oscar® telecast.

Don Mischer has produced television programs since 1976, when he produced a special for Barbra Streisand. Other programs have included Kennedy Center Honors, the Emmy Awards, The Grand Opening of Euro Disney, the opening ceremonies of the 2002 Winter Olympics and the opening and closing ceremonies of the 1996 Summer Olympics, and programs for Bob Hope, Nell Carter, Christopher Reeve, the Pointer Sisters and Mikhail Baryshnikov. He also produced The Wayne Brady Show and the halftime shows for Super Bowl XXVIII, XXXIX, XL and XLI in 1993 and 2005 through 2008. In 2009, he produced We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial, the public concert in Washington, DC held two days prior to the inauguration of Barack Obama as 44th President of the United States.

Brian Grazer is a renowned filmmaker who over the past 25 years has produced a diverse and extraordinary body of work. Grazer has earned four Academy Award nominations. He won a Best Picture Oscar in 2001 for "A Beautiful Mind." In 1984, Grazer was nominated in the writing category for "Splash," and he received Best Picture nominations in 1995 and 2008 for "Apollo 13" and "Frost/Nixon," respectively. His other film credits include "Spies Like Us," "Kindergarten Cop," "The Nutty Professor," "Liar Liar," "8 Mile" and "Cinderella Man." His current projects include the about to be released "J. Edgar" and the just released "Tower Heist."

No comments:

Post a Comment